Canadian History

CANADIAN HISTORY – Three Founding Nationsmaple_leaf

Canadian culture  evolved  primarily  from  its three founding  nations   –   the  British,  the French,  and Indigenous  peoples (the original inhabitants of the land).

The first inhabitants probably crossed from Siberia by land bridge as the last Ice Age was drawing to a close so the history of “Canada” stretches well into the past, long before the arrival of the Europeans.

Aboriginal peoples had established trade routes across “Canada” as early as 1,000 BC to 500 BC.  Their cultures spanned thousands of years.  They had distinct spiritual beliefs and styles of social organization.

It wasn’t until the late 15th century that French and British expeditions explored, colonized, and fought over various lands in the region known as Canada today.  The colony of New France was established in 1534.  In 1763 it was ceded to the United Kingdom after the French were defeated in the Seven Years’ War.

Historians grouped First Nations in Canada according to the six main geographic areas of the country – Woodland First Nations, Iroquoian First Nations, Plains First Nations, Plateau First Nations,  Pacific Coast First Nations, and the First Nations of the Mackenzie and Yukon River Basins.

On their website the government of Canada acknowledges on that.. “the history of First Nations, Inuit and Métis is essentially the very history of Canada as they have played, and continue to play, important roles in its development and its future“.  The Government of Canada invites everyone to learn more at the virtual exhibit at the Canadian Museum of History

%d bloggers like this: